Days of the Week in Spanish: The Easy Way to Learn

Breadcrumb Abstract Shape
Breadcrumb Abstract Shape
Breadcrumb Abstract Shape
Breadcrumb Abstract Shape
Breadcrumb Abstract Shape
Breadcrumb Abstract Shape
Days of the Week in Spanish
  • Luis Ronson
  • 25 Feb, 2024
  • 2 Mins Read

In Spanish, days of the week are used to indicate time. Spanish has seven days of the week: Lunes (Monday), Martes (Tuesday), Miércoles (Wednesday), Jueves (Thursday), Viernes (Friday), Sábado (Saturday), and Domingo (Sunday).  It is a subject that everyone learning Spanish should know the basics of.

SundayDomingo doh-ming-oh


Related day wordsMeaning
Days of the weekDías de la semana 
The day after tomorrowPasado mañana
The day before yesterdayAntes de ayer
The next dayEl día siguiente
The last dayEl día anterior

What are the Abbreviations of days of the week in Spanish?

Abbreviations for the days of the week in Spanish are shown in the table below.

Domingo doD

How do you memorize the days of the week in Spanish?

You can use memorization cards, songs about days of the week, games, and exercises about days to quickly memorize days of the week in Spanish.

What are the grammar rules of days of the week in Spanish? 

When writing  days of the week  in Spanish, there are some essential grammar rules to keep in mind:

  • The days of the week in Spanish are written in lowercase.
  • To express what day it is, use the phrase “Es” (it’s)
  • To indicate that an event has taken place or will take place on a specific day, use the definite article “El” before the day.

Cultural Significance of the Days of the Week

The days of the week are essential not only in the language but also in the Spanish cultural fabric.

The cultural characteristics of Spanish days are explained below;

  1. Lunes: In many Latin American countries, Lunes is considered an auspicious day for new beginnings. The “Lunes Santo” (Holy Monday) concept is also prominent during the Holy Week leading up to Easter, where religious processions and celebrations occur.
  2. Martes: In some Spanish-speaking countries, Tuesday is associated with good luck and fortune. For example, in Mexico, “Martes 13” (Tuesday the 13th) is considered a lucky day, contrary to the Western superstition of Friday the 13th. 
  3. Miércoles: Miércoles is known as “día de mercado” or market day in many Spanish-speaking countries. Historically, Wednesdays were bustling with activity as people gathered in local markets to buy and sell goods. Even today, many towns and cities in Spain and Latin America hold weekly markets on Wednesdays, offering fresh produce, crafts, and a vibrant atmosphere.
  4. Jueves: In many Spanish-speaking countries, Jueves holds religious significance. In addition, “Jueves Santo” (Holy Thursday) marks the beginning of the Easter celebrations, commemorating the Last Supper of Jesus Christ with his disciples.
  5. Viernes: Viernes is often associated with celebrations, especially in Latin American countries. In many cultures, “viernes social” or “social Friday” is a popular tradition where friends and family gather to enjoy each other’s company, share meals, and engage in recreational activities.
  6. Sábado: Sábado in Spanish-speaking countries is often dedicated to leisure, relaxation, and family time. Many people take advantage of the weekend to engage in recreational activities, visit parks, go to the beach, or spend quality time with loved ones.
  7. Domingo: Domingo holds great religious significance in many Spanish-speaking countries. It is a day for attending church services, spending time with family, and enjoying a day of rest.
Luis Ronson

Luis Ronson is a Spanish teacher at He's a bilingual Spanish-English. She has a master's in "vocabulary" and is responsible for our Spanish vocabulary-related articles.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *